Kosher Licorice

Jewish consumers and business owners throughout the world need to observe rules for keep flavored licorice kosher. The Kashrut defines certain limitations on food preparation and ingredients that apply to gourmet licorice. Consumers should look for symbols and certifications on soft licorice packages to ensure that their treats are kosher.

Staying True to Kosher Rules in Flavored Licorice

The main limitations on candy and treats by the Kashrut involve the tools used during preparation. Each water vat, form and utensil used to create licorice needs to be used solely for kosher food. These tools cannot make contact with dairy and meat byproducts at any point during production.

Another restriction placed on flavored licorice production by the Kashrut is the proper treatment of fruits and vegetables. The roots used in old-fashioned black licorice need to be inspected for insects and cleaned before entering batter. The same rule applies to natural flavorings and pieces of fruit that are incorporated into gourmet twists.

The Kashrut sets rules for individuals who are handling specific ingredients in kosher food. An example of these rules is the restriction against Gentiles handling grapes used during food preparation. Confection artisans will often request assistance from local rabbis and organizations to ensure that labels follow Kashrut rules.

The 11 flavors of soft twists available from Licorice Candy Twist have been certified kosher before sale. The company's wide selection of flavored sticks is enhanced by overnight shipping through DHL, UPS and Fed Ex for small orders.